Online Directory Lookup Specifications

Purpose

This document contains specification information related to the information available on the online directory lookup web application and who it is available to.

Policy / Procedure

Two online directory lookup routines are available, a public "Employee Lookup" that is available to anyone and a private "Student Lookup" that requires valid SVSU authentication through SAML/SSO to access.

Note:

  • Students are considered admitted 24 hours after being recorded as admitted in Colleague. They are considered admitted until they register or if they don’t register, until mid-way through the first fall or winter semester for which they have been admitted (if admitted for spring or summer, they are considered admitted until mid-fall semester, unless they register). 
  • Students are considered registered 24 hours after registering.  They are considered as registered if they are registered for the current semester or a future semester.  They are no longer considered registered as of the first day of a semester for which they are not registered as long as they are not registered for a future semester.
     

Employee Lookup

Access

The Employee Lookup routine will have no access restrictions.

Information Displayed

The Employee Lookup routine will only display information for users who have any of the following Tech Access indicator values:

Regular Employee

Y

Adjunct

Y

Temp

Y

Pool/Misc

Y

Student Lookup

Access                                                                                    

Only users who have a valid SVSU credentials will be allowed to utilize the Student Lookup routine.

 

Information Displayed

In addition to the users available in the public Employee Lookup, the Student Lookup routine will also display information for users who have the following Tech Access indicator value:

Currently registered (“Future” in SQL DB)

Y

Student

A

OverrideDate

Is not empty

Note: Students will not be displayed if their Tech Access DirectoryBlock indicator is set to ‘Y’.

 

FAQ

What students are in SVSU's online student directory?

Admitted and registered students based on the Technology Access Policy.

Students are considered admitted 24 hours after being recorded as admitted in Colleague.

Students are considered registered 24 hours after registering.

Student who request their information not be displayed in the directory lookup, need to do so through the Registrar’s Office.  Their information will not be displayed 24 hours after the Registrar’s Office sets the directory flag in Colleague (BIO screen) to “H” or “N”.
 

All students who have enrolled in a class, regardless of part versus full-time?

Yes.


When is a student taken off the directory?

The process that removes admitted students from the directory is run twice a year, mid-fall and mid-winter semesters. Admitted students who have not registered and were admitted for the processing semester are removed. 

Registered students are removed from the directory as of the first day of classes for the semester they don’t register for, as long as they are not registered for a future term.


For example, a student enrolls in fall classes, then drops out of school, is he/she immediately removed from the directory?

The student is removed within 24 hours of the dropping of all their classes, as long as the student did not receive a grade for any of the dropped classes and is not registered for a future term.

Details

Article ID: 134064
Created
Mon 7/12/21 4:38 PM
Modified
Tue 7/13/21 4:32 PM