Device DLP

Summary

Purview Device Data Loss Prevention (DLP) limits copying and pasting sensitive data into a browser and certain desktop apps, as a security measure, to stop sensitive information from being unintentionally shared or exposed online. It works by confirming the intent to copy sensitive data, reminding the user to protect against data leaks or breaches.

Body

Purview Device Data Loss Prevention (DLP) limits copying and pasting sensitive data into a browser and certain desktop apps, as a security measure, to stop sensitive information from being unintentionally shared or exposed online. It works by confirming the intent to copy sensitive data, reminding the user to protect against data leaks or breaches. 

Below are examples of what happens when sensitive data is copied to the clipboard or an attempt is made to paste it. To see how sensitive data is defined, please refer to the Document and Email Encryption and Protection article that is listed in the Related Articles section.

Depending on the application you are using on an SVSU-owned device, you may see one of the prompts explained below.

Justification Prompt

  1. After performing Paste, you will be prompted to select a justification for copying or pasting the data. If the data does not require encryption, according to SVSU policy, continue to step 3. If policy requires encrypting the data, please find another method of sharing the information.

    After performing Paste, you will be prompted to select a justification for pasting the data.
     
  2. Choose one of the Business Justification options:
    1. This is part of an established business workflow.
    2. My manager has approved this action.
    3. Urgent access required; I'll notify my manager separately.
    4. The information in these files is not sensitive.

      ​​Choose one of the Business Justification options  
       
  3. Type a reason.
  4. Click Allow.
  5. Perform Paste again.

Override Prompt

  1. After performing a copy or paste, you will be notified that the data has been protected and you need to Override or Cancel. If the data does not require encryption, according to SVSU policy, continue to step 3. If policy requires encrypting the data, please click Cancel and find another method of sharing the information.


     
  2. Click Override.
  3. Perform Paste again.

Action Blocked Prompt

  1. After performing a copy or paste, you will be notified that the copy action has been blocked for the document you are working within.  You cannot copy the content from this document.
  2. Click Dismiss

    fter performing a copy or paste, you will be notified that the copy action has been blocked for the document you are working within

Details

Details

Article ID: 155728
Created
Mon 11/27/23 11:41 AM
Modified
Thu 11/30/23 9:17 AM

Related Articles

Related Articles (1)

Encrypt documents and email messages containing sensitive information.